Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

I knew it was somewhere

Fifty years ago I spent most of my 20s as a Catholic nun. In those days we wore habits and veils which showed only a little hair. The nuns would cut each other's hair but I manged to avoid having anyone cut mine. Instead, I somehow procured this hair cutter. I can't remember exactly how but I suspect my mother or a friend provided it. I used it to keep my own hair tidy and that of a few of my nun friends.

On Friday my better half and I had hairdresser appointments. However, we are in lockdown and all hairdressers in New South Wales are closed. We both need tidying a little and I was wishing I had appropriate scissors. I was recalling that the last time I had to tidy my own hair was 50 years ago and then I remembered my hair cutter. I was sure I would never have thrown it out. After much searching I finally found it together with a packet of my father's razor blades which he must have contributed back then. I still have the instructions (see extra) so if lockdown goes on much longer I will try to use the cutter again. We will avoid taking photos of ourselves in the meantime until we get back to see a real hairdresser.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.