The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

High Penn (Saturday 28th August 2021)

My return to High Penn was a lot less dramatic than the previous week, if less ambitious. Parking at the same spot I took the main path that led directly to Penn Lake, the larger and nearer of two, and circled its circumference. It was very quiet, with only one coot on the lake and a couple of anglers, plus the chap opposite who was enjoying the view.

L.
Sunday 29.8.2021 (1937 hr)

Blip #3509 (#3259 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2021 #164/265 + #083/100 Extras
Day #4174 (919 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2652 (#2452 + 160 in archived blips)

Calne series
Trees series

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900 (24-2000mm equivalent bridge camera)

A Walk In High Penn, 28 August 2021 (Flickr album)(To follow)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Emily Barker with Frank Turner - Bound For Home (2021)
Emily Barker performed this on Clive Anderson's Loose Ends programme on this day. That excellent performance isn't on You Tube, but this is the official version on the album A Dark Murmuration Of Home. Emily Barker is an Australian now living in Stroud, I believe.
Bound For Home was written with my friend, Frank Turner, on a day I was feeling particularly homesick. Frank is a huge Clive James fan and he read me James’s stunning poem Leçons De Ténèbres. I learned that day that Clive, based in the UK for decades, had become too ill to make the journey back to Australia. His memories of growing up in the suburbs of Sydney became the muse for so much of his work. He was as fascinated with how we remember, as much as with the memories themselves. As Frank and I worked on the song, it emerged that a conversation was occurring between Clive and I. I was thinking about my childhood home, asking my tidal question of whether or not it was time to return, and reflecting on Clive’s lack of choice on the matter. As well as Frank lending his voice to our song with some beautiful harmonies, the song also features some great guitar playing (Nashville-tuning) and bowed double bass by Lukas Drinkwater. - Emily Barker

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.