caitielou

By caitielou

X-Games

Today Spencer and I used our get-in-free passes to Espace Killy to see the European XGames. It was a gorgeous, sunny, warm day.... so we only watched one event and then skied the rest of the day! We saw the Men's Snowboard Slope Style Finals, and took a ton of pictures, cheered for the Americans, et cetera. We were stunned by the fact that there were so few spectators for the events! The American XGames are a huge production with a ton of people who go to see the events. But here, there was hardly anybody! And it was the finals! To be fair though, it was 10:30 in the morning and the snow was gorgeous! There day was probably better spent by everyone skiing rather than spectating. After the men's finals, we went and checked out the Sponsor's tents, grabbed some free giveaways, and ate lunch. After we went off and did some back country runs from off the the Glacier Grande Motte and the snow was superb! A bit transformed by the wind, but still powder despite the sun and warmth. Needless to say, there were a lot of seriously good skiers and snowboards out in the backcountry, filming, taking photos, jumping off cliffs (trying to make me look bad! everyone knows I'm the best cliff jumper :P ). While one skier did almost land on me because he didn't know I was standing below the cliff he was jumping off (I had no reason to believe anybody would be jumping off the cliff above me, that's how high it was!), this snowboarder was in his group and I snapped him going off another cliff closer to the bottom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.