Springtime Christmas

I failed to walk the talk and took the train in this morning. Pathetic. The bravado of last night withered before the blizzard raging outside the window when I awoke from a deep sleep just before 7am. It wasn't so much the cold or the snow, but the fact that the cars were creating a ridge of slush on my cycling line. It was a choice of either cycling through that or in the middle of the lane and being both a nuisance and a hazard. I was bummed. I was in the mood for a bit of adversity.

It hasn't stopped snowing all day and the forecast suggests that it will keep going all night and for most of tomorrow. The wind is howling outside as I write this. It's a case of battening down the hatches and trying to stay warm. It's going to be a wild night.

Just a little aside. I enjoyed an amazing soup from the health food shop in Shipley yesterday, cream of garlic, potato and thyme, but apart from that being totally wonderful, it came with a toast sandwich. I'd never come across such a thing before but it's amazing. Just a slice of buttered and slightly salted toast between two slices of bread, fresh baked of course. It's so simple but the combination of textures is utterly divine. Thanks guys for yet another series of culinary delights this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.