earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Goose Eye Tree

I woke up early again with the sun low in the sky and casting a diffuse light into my studio. I'm still in the mood to make the most of this unusually clement March weather so I took myself off on one of my longer routes to the office, via Silsden, Steeton, Redcar Tarn, Goose Eye, Oakworth, Haworth and Cullingworth, about 23 miles and a lot of steep hills! It felt great to be spending most of that time up high, under pastel blue skies, looking down upon the haze in the valley bottoms.

It was good weather for cycling, but I found it hard for photography. The bright sun and haziness seemed to cause of lot of scattered light, and nothing really grabbed me from the shots I took other than this one, the very last to be taken, climbing out of Goose Eye towards Oakworth. It won't be long before these favourite solitary bare trees of mine are coming into leaf so I'm going to have to make the most of them while I can.

Working late at the office - after another long and rather frustrating day - but shortly going out as one of my young superstars here (who manages the support desk) has her mother visiting from Latvia and we are taking them both out for a meal. I intend to make her mum proud! She deserves it. I'm not sure how I would survive without K at this point, shielding me from our users and their issues - and the strange things they sometimes manage to do!

Finally, I was deeply honoured, plus rather surprised, by a blip today. I only met Spartan for the first time a few weeks ago, but we appear to have already made quite an impression on each other. If you thought my exercise regime was a little extreme, then this guy leaves me in the dust! It's quite fortunate that I'm not as young as I used to be, otherwise I might be sorely tempted to try to keep up with his exploits! The man is an inspiration, and incredibly generous with his time. I look forward to a rich friendship Nikos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.