earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Wharfedale Springtime

There can be no doubt that Spring is here. The first trees are coming into blossom and the daffodils are now out it in abundance. I felt the need to record this in some way today and really wanted to make sure I have some daffodils in my journal! So many of the lanes I commute on have them at the roadside. I've no idea whether this is the result of deliberate planting or simply random colonisation. Any thoughts? The one sure thing, though, is that it makes for a wonderful sight as you're cycling along. They've become a big part of my day recently so blipped they have to be!

I have a kind of instinctive resistance to blipping the same view again, just as I find it hard to run or cycle the same route too regularly, but I'm coming around to appreciate the value of returning to the same spot at different times of the year and at different times of day. Each shot is unique. So, we've been here before, but I rather like this more understated shot compared to the same scene last August.

The pressures and struggles at work caught up with me last night and I completely crashed in front of the TV after dinner. My eyes just closed over and I drifted away! Today has been better and most of the issues are now sorted. I cycled to and from the office, via Askwith and Otley this morning and via Shipley Tramway and Baildon Moor this evening. I feel the need to make the most of this incredibly settled spell of weather. I'm kind of expecting April to bring blizzards and lots of wind and rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.