earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Commuting Through Time

Working late and a bit strung out, I caught the train back last night, leaving the summer bike at the office. The winter bike is still being deliberated over by the mechanics and both my mountain bikes need some attention to get them fit to ride after a bit of a lay off. But waking up early again, I really wanted to have some time outside before starting back at the computer (I think I knew it was going to be another tough day).

So, being without bike, for the first time since we moved to these offices eighteen months ago, I ran into work. It's a bit under 8 miles straight over the moor, and I really had forgotten what a great and varied route it is. About half of the distance is on the moor to Dick Hudson's pub. From there it is field paths and little stream-side trails to the top of Shipley Glen and then to the canal.

The moor is in superb condition for running at the moment. The peaty paths have dried out, but not to the extent that they are hard. There is a wonderful springiness to the trails in a lot of places. They never stay like this for long, though, so it's good to make the most of the conditions while you can. With all the bracken clear, this next couple of months is my very favourite time of year to be running on the moor. I just have to fit it in somehow between all the cycling!

This shot is of a small paved section of what was a packhorse trail. This is just a few hundred yards short of Dick Hudson's and it is easy to imagine this hostelry doing fine business with all the animals tethered up outside. This way has been trodden for many centuries. These flagstones may also date right back to Roman times. A good few hundreds of thousands of people have commuted to work along this same route before me.

I'm not going to even mention my day at work. The presentation tomorrow has had to be held back. I've been rather grumpy again ... a little helped by a good cycle back this evening at dusk, with beautiful colours in the sky. Could have blipped those, but it's been more of a mono kind of day really. It's now 8pm and I'm still in my cycling gear. Time to get washed up and grab some food. Hope to get back a little later to start catching up with a few people. I've been neglecting you all terribly. Not by choice I have to say.

PS The highlight of my day was reading this blip on a short break - mid much hair-pulling. It was a reminder that technology can be put to the most wonderful ends. Extremely heart-warming.

PPS Thanks for much for the hearts for yesterday's shot. I'll try to catch up soon. But, once again, you lot just rock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.