fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Make Do And Mend

Women derive a pleasure, incomprehensible to the other sex, from the delicate toil of the needle.
(Nathaniel Hawthorne, The Scarlet Letter)


I'm not sure that I derive much pleasure from this kind of sewing, although I do very much from small creative sewing projects, cross stitch and the like.

It amazes me that people throw clothing away if so much as a button comes loose. I'm having to work a bit harder than usual to maintain my clothes as I simply can't keep replacing things at the moment, so the wartime slogan has taken on extra significance for me. I actually have a 'mending pile' awaiting action from my needle and thread.

Having said all that I've regretted embarking on resewing all the buttons on this coat - it is so tedious and there are so many of them! They have been working loose for some time, and I thought I'd get it done ready for spring ... if it ever comes! Like much of the country we're currently dealing with bitterly cold temperatures, snow flurries and high winds. Brrr!!!

Thanks for the comments on the back-blip I posted yesterday - today (Friday) has been a much better day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.