Summer - Still Summer!

Another sunflower made it, winning the race  to flower before the cold weather / frost sets in. The rowan adds a bit of colour to the greenery in the background.
We returned to our mushroom spot to see if there was any new growth. There was, but it was mostly not of the edible variety (see extra).  Or is it?  According to the Wikipedia article on fly agaric, Amanita muscaria, it can be used as a food mushroom if treated in the correct way.  However, I won't be experimenting and I hope you won't either!
Returning to the usual edible types, we did manage to collect enough porcini to eat tonight and to fill both plant dryers. One hour to collect, three hours to sort, trim, slice up and to place in the mushroom dryers.
I cut the big lawn today. I'd have done more but the mower ran out of petrol and we didn't have any more. Now we do, so tomorrow I'll be back in action again.
UPDATE
This is a backblip so I know I didn't cut more grass, instead I....    Well, click here to see what I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.