Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Under the High...

Makes me think of "Under His Eye" ... did you watch The Handmaid's Tale? I've just heard a UK-wide weather forecast on the telly, and the man was talking about persistent grey skies, with perhaps a hint of drizzle - and I heard someone else on the radio earlier talking about a miserable summer, and we've been sunning ourselves in the garden, swimming in the sea and watering the garden in the evenings (with the watering-can only, because our reservoirs are at an all-time low). Strange, isn't it? Clearly we are right at the centre of this big High Pressure area. I'll take it ill when normal service is resumed.

We were supposed to be meeting fellow-blipper ElspethAnne  today, but as she had a family emergency I was left with time to do my Italian in the morning (fair rattled through it at that time of day!) and hang out two loads of washing. It was a perfect morning - still, blue sky, bright sun - and I hung about in the lane just ... being. We had lunch in the garden again, and went to Ardentinny for a walk, where we clocked that the sea buckthorn berries are growing nicely orange and that there were only three camper-vans left instead of the mobs that have rendered the beach a no-go area all summer. In fact, the silence up the path through the woods was so complete as to remind me of the Nevada desert; usually our silences are punctuated by the noise of some burn among the bracken or a bird somewhere. Not today.

I'm blipping my dinner tonight simply because it was colourful and absolutely delicious. Tuesday is always a day when I seem to create dinners out of bits, though a quick check tells me that I've not blipped it for a while. This was linguine with a couple of sausages left over from yesterday, skinned and chopped small, along with some chestnut mushrooms, spring onions, courgette, red pepper, three cloves of garlic, parsley and parmesan. In chilli pesto. 

As I was making it, I was reflecting how swiftly shopping day comes round every week. Is it because I still feel uneasy doing it, or simply because basically my life is so vacant? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.