I dislike Plumbing Jobs.

I dislike Plumbing Jobs.
My first recollection of a home plumbing jobs was in the 1970's, I was in my 20's, when my Dad and I extended the central heating to the bathroom in the first house I owned. Neither of us knew what we were doing but apart from setting a bit of the floor covering on fire it went reasonably well all considering.
Its been downhill since then!!
At work I was quite happy working with the gas systems on Chromatographs, most of the joints were compression joints and we used 1/8" copper or stainless steel pipe. A leaking joint did not make a mess either.
Two notable home plumbing jobs are imprinted on my mind, neither of which started as plumbing  jobs. 
The first I was helping Frances at her first home in Sutton. I was sawing floorboards to lift them and cut through a water pipe!! I was like the Young Dutch Boy with his finger in the dike hole, stemming the leak, while Frances phoned my brother-in-law to come and help.
The second was in the 'Noughties' when I was fixing a loose floor board and put a nail in a water pipe!! Bro-in-law to the rescue again.
Fast forward to now I get in a real mood if a job involves water. 
The campervan has a dripping tap. Should be an easy job 'NoWay' :( I just cannot unscrew the hot tap 'brass threaded tap gland. I have tried WD40 and heating the tap body...... Its gonna have to drip. 
To say I am in a bad mood is an understatement !!  
Still, looking on the bright-side I am going out tonight with the camera club.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.