Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Telephone

At a quarter to three this afternoon my horizon became a great deal brighter than it was yesterday. The application I submitted on Friday has gained me a place on the shortlist and I have been invited for interview. I can only conclude that the shortlist is very short because all interviews will take place in a single afternoon and will include an exam and a wander round at least part of the 600+ hectare premises in addition to the actual interview part. I don't believe that the selection system is similar to that of IKEA, where all candidates are assessed simultaneously, competing against each other for the same vacancy, and so I imagine there are probably only one or two others on the shortlist.

Having absorbed all that, I then contacted my lovely boss to request time off and explained why I wanted it. He is sad for our team but happy for me and fully understands my reasons for looking elsewhere.

Next I booked my train travel, a night in an hotel, and for good measure I made a request to view a flat close to the location of the job, which will become available to rent one month from now. Best to be prepared!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.