Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Wisteria

After a very productive day of doing-those-things-which-ought-to-be-done, Arachne and I took our cameras out for a late afternoon walk around East Oxford. We had kind-of talked about patterns in brickwork and so, loosely-speaking, we were on the lookout for interesting walls.

We did find one street where just about every house was some kind of architectural curiosity, and were I here for long enough I'd probably blip one of those every day for a month or more. But I am not here for long enough so I had to choose.

I have finally opted for the way-out-of-control wisteria in an entirely different street. The owner of the house on the right has only recently moved in and wasn't quite sure whether or not this level of wisteria domination was normal. He thought that perhaps he should get it out of his gutter, and perhaps also expose the street lamp, and we pointed out that the majority of the plant appeared to belong to his neighbour, who might care to take a look at what its fingers are getting up to with the roof slates.

And then we continued on our way minding our own business.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.