Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

OK, I concede. I was wrong to say that all I needed to bring with me from Avengers: Endgame to Spiderman – Far from Home was a note to the effect that X had died whilst trying to save the Earth. Despite the fact that I struggled to follow the plot of the former, having that information buried, however messily, somewhere deep in my subconsciousness did help my understanding of today's plot.

Not that there is ever really a problem with following a Spidey flick plot; the story-line is never complex and all characters are very distinguishable from one another, though I have to say that Aunt May appears to be quite a bit younger than she was in the original ;-)

I love the fact that special effects are now so astonishingly good. Yes I loved the clanky skeletons and what have you in the 1963 Jason and the Argonauts, but that was seriously ahead of its time, there's been a fair few howlers since then.

I loved seeing Venice close-up, having seen it from the air only three weeks ago. I loved seeing evil beings inflict huge destruction on classic landmarks, safe in the knowledge that no real damage was being done. And especially I loved watching Spidey attempting to prevent towers from toppling by wrapping them in sticky and pulling hard.

So yes. Three films in three weekends has been jolly good fun. I am tempted to buy a season ticket.

And this is Upnor Castle, across the water from the cinema. Very real and no special effects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.