The Margaret Paton

Social media had alerted me to this new piece of street art on Maritime Lane by keithfig, whose work I have previously featured. It’s a striking piece, dedicated in memory of the Margaret Paton, a Granton trawler that disappeared in December 1949. Some wreckage was eventually found on the Norwegian coast.

I was pleased also to be able to have a quick poke around Quality Yard for the first time. There is some stunning work in there. I’ve added an extra.

My intention had been to take a morning walk to Milk and then get back in plenty of time for my 1pm meeting, which was an interesting one regarding the future of the School I work in (and for me was enlivened by a What’s App sidebar with one colleague and the amusement of seeing another colleague, whose picture I had earlier seen on social media doing stand up paddle boarding on the Costa del Granton this morning in an endeavour to improve her work life balance, now locked and loaded for official meeting action). However, the Peloton engineers, who were coming to attend to my squeaky shoe, came a little later than I’d hoped, and while they fixed my problem, they didn’t get away until later than I had expected. As a result, the entire morning got a bit shunted around. But at least I don’t have to put up with a squeak any more, and as I thought, it was something to do with the shoe not the bike. I was also delayed in getting away for my walk by a couple of calls regarding the non-arrival and then the arrival (by Parcel Farce) of our lovely new Eve Campbell linen hanging (which I’m sure will feature in a future blip). For a brief moment I thought it was lost, which was exceedingly discombobulating. So instead of going to Milk, I had a wander around Leith, picked up my blip, and also picked up some mini pizzas for lunch at Patisserie Mario on Henderson Street.

It also turned out, unexpectedly, to be a really beautiful day, and it would have been lovely to while away some time on the balcony, but that was not to be, although we popped out a few times, and discussed some of our next moves. There are definitely some advantages to working at home, although this week I have mainly been trying to “work from home” in the traditional sense, with the objective of minimising meetings and getting a couple of pieces finished and hopefully away to journals for review. I’m making some progress, but not as good as I’d hoped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.