Strawberry Fields Forever

My daughter, granddaughter and I went to Cammas Hall Farm for a wander and lunch as Tilda is going back to dental school in Liverpool at the weekend. The farm has been growing for 'pick your own' since 1966. We wondered why we have never visited before.

After a lovely pot of tea we enjoyed our food, had some laughs and good conversation. We asked if we could share a piece of cake for pudding. It was served garnished with a single freshly-picked strawberry and raspberry each. The fruit was so delicious, reminiscent of the taste of soft fruit when I was a child.

The sunflowers were past their best and going to seed. The Strawberry Fields Forever sign was quite appropriate with Tilda's imminent return to Liverpool. John Lennon used to play in the garden of the Strawberry Field Salvation Army children's home and loved hearing the Sally Army band playing at events. The song takes me back. I sang it to Ollie dog when I got home.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.