Fighting Kids Cancer......

Last year I rode the GCC .... the Great Cycle Challenge is a world wide ride on bicycles for the month of September. I set my ride last year as 200 miles.   In spite of having fought cancer for 9 months before, I manage to ride 200 miles in 30 days.
    This year I have pledged to ride 3oo miles in 30 days.   Today is Sept 1..   My blip is the Dashboard of the app on my phone.  Every time I ride, I log into the dash board and it keeps track of the miles I ride , makes a map, and times the length of the ride.   If I need to stop to snack or, more importantly chat with others, I can pause the app , chat, and then continue my ride.  The app will keep a running record of where, when, how long, by gps (through the iPhone) and add it to the  total.   It's a whole lot of fun, and the money raised goes to the Cancer association help find cures for children.
   It rained all darn day today, but around 6:45 I was able to get out on day one and get 8.7 miles in.  I don 't have a facebook page, but my partner who rides with me, Pam, does and you can look up the GCC or Great Cycle Challenge on Facebook.  Last year the endeavor raised Thousands of dollars.  I will be updating you each week AS TO HOW how things are going.  
     One fun thing the app does is it creates a digital map of where I ride.   We are looking forward to a fun month.
Now, if only the hurricanes would cooperate a bit more than they have been, up to now!     :-))) 
    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.