The goldfinches are back in numbers

We’ve been back home for two days and there is a big gap where Bomble’s presence would normally be. In the garden it is striking how much good clearance work Helena and various others achieved before we went away. I’ve felt quite tired after all the driving and haven’t been able to buckle down and carry on the good work, planting up fresh containers and planning how to make the garden look good.

I’ve noticed our garden birds being more plentiful and active compared to other places we’ve recently visited and spent time just looking out of the windows at them. Drinking tea in bed early this morning I saw a male bullfinch land on the branches of the tree just behind the house.  A couple of male blackbirds also came to look foe the grapes which are beginning to ripen on the vine I planted years ago which rampantly climbs high up through the tree. Later this morning seven long-tailed tits descended to eat from the the suet pellet feeder just outside the patio doors, chattering away and devouring food rapidly before flying away at the first disturbance.

At lunchtime I took my camera down to the patio table when I went out to replenish the sunflower seed feeders around the patio. I sat under a grey cloudy sky and happily waited for birds to come and go, mostly bluetits, a robin and a wren. I sat at the table and wondered what might turn up. 
A young goldfinch came to inspect what was on offer and before long six others joined it on and around the feeder. Other birds come to grab seeds which they would then fly away with to consume elsewhere. The goldfinches eat in situ and thus hog the access to the food, but don’t mind other birds joining in with their flock to get to the food.

After eating the birds fly into nearby bushes and low branches of small trees, to eat and wait for the next feeding opportunity. Unfortunately they become prey themselves. I lowered my rather heavy camera and lens for a moment, when suddenly there was a intense flurry and squawking. A sparrowhawk flew straight up the garden just above the hedge towards this feeder and then turned on a sixpence to attack a small bird eating some fruit in the shrubs a few feet to the right of this old tree. I  don’t think it was a successful hunt but it was quite shocking to have it happen just four yards from where I was sitting.It made me very aware of why little birds have to be so wary and flighty. I stayed seated for about fifteen minutes but none of the plentiful small birds re-appeared for quite a time! A warning message must have been sent out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.