Beinghere

By Beinghere

Faded Roses Abstract

A slow start to the day with extra long cuddles in bed for Geordie and I . I always ask him if he has any plans for the day, or places he would like to go, but in the absence of an answer that makes any sense, I get to choose what we do and where we go.

And so it was that we made our way to Hamilton Wood for our walk. I’ve been very tired this week, so was walking more slowly than usual and felt sorry for Geordie having to go at my pace……and this is where I made a big mistake and it all went wrong ….I let Geordie off the lead. Aaaarrgh!

While we walked around the fields beside the wood he was as good as gold. Racing back to me each time I called, and sitting at my feet to get praise and a treat. Then off he would go again, racing around the stubble fields, having the time of his life. We began walking through the wood, and still he was returning each time I called, until he suddenly decided to switch to Nuttermutt mode…….. I called, he ran back towards me, then put on the brakes about two metres from me. Nothing I did would convince him to come any closer, so we walked back to the car with me in front and him ten paces behind.
Of course, he wouldn’t get in the car, so after a while of trying I phoned our friend Gary. Geordie loves Gary and races to him whenever he sees him. This was the answer. The solution to the problem. The means of getting home……How wrong was I!
Gary arrived. Geordie got excited and ran to him. Then stopped two metres away.
That was us for the next half hour. We tried everything. In the end I rugby tackled him by the rear end and back legs, Gary grabbed him quickly from the front and we man-handled him into the car.
I drove home with him sitting up in the back seat like he was getting chauffeur-driven, and looking perfectly pleased with himself.
I have only myself to blame for being so weak, and wanting him to have a good time and a great run around the fields.
I have had dogs all my life that have run around happily off lead, but still did what they were told. Geordie is teaching me something, I’m not sure what, but there’s obviously some lesson I need to learn.

My blip today is an abstract of fading/decaying roses in a friend’s garden. The Extra is Common chicory I spotted in a field this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.