fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Thursday's child

One of the issues with having quite so many children is finding opportunities to spend some time with them, one to one, especially when two of them are away at university.

A couple of weeks ago Hannah asked if I could go and pick up all her bags for the Easter holidays. I wasn't going to be picking up her as she was going to the theatre in the afternoon and I couldn't pick her up in the evening.

There was a minor complication arising from the fact that I hadn't told her that I was in a courtesy car, so she came to find me and then went back to her 'phone while I sat in the car wondering how she was managing to take quite so long.

Car packed, we went for breakfast at The Deaf Institute, which is our favourite place near her halls of residence. I finally succumbed and tried pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, which ought to be vile but was, in fact, delicious.

Then breakfast eaten and coffee finished, I headed north again. I took this photo on my way along by the river in Natland. That thin strip of white in the middle of the photo is the snow capped mountains.

PS Hannah was actually born on a Saturday but I didn't want the truth to get in the way of my title. It's art, man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.