fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

The bounce.

I miss London. Don't get me wrong, I love living in Cumbria, but I miss the city, too.

Which is why I'm delighted that I get to go down there most weeks. Typically, that will afford me one evening in town when I can catch up with friends, whether we go to a gig or an exhibition or just to the pub. But some weeks, I go there and back in a day.

It goes like this: drive to Lancaster; park and buy ticket; go to Costa; take the train to Euston; walk to Euston Square; Underground to Paddington; Heathrow Express; walk to the bus station; catch the bus.

And then, once I've been to a meeting or two, I do the same thing in reverse to get home. It is inexplicably tiring.

This week I went down for one meeting, just an hour and a half long. The plus side to that was that I had time to go back to Euston via Piccadilly and meet a friend for a drink at BAFTA. It's a nice space although in a room full of creative types, hunched together over their MacBooks, I did feel a bit of a square :-)

*or, more accurately, be taken by the train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.