Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Morning walk in the woods

It has been a very busy day and I am not touching sides at the moment, so I have turned comments off. I will get back to journals when things get a bit easier.

We walked Xena in the woods this morning and this is the only photo I took all day, so it has to do! For the rest of the day poor Gavin has been working non stop cutting the mountboard into the right sizes so that when I get my images printed next week the mounts are all ready to fit the prints into them. It was a very arduous job, as the mountboard comes in huge sheets and it has to be cut down and then cut again into the right size using a special mount cutter,  for each of the 15 prints. He has done an expert job and it looks better than other ones I had done in the past at our local printer!

I have been busy filling out the submission forms for my ARPS and printing off the accompanying documentation that has to go with the prints. I am still playing around with the layout of the panel and trying to decide on the best option - I must decide by tomorrow and then send off the images to be printed. I have also done some more final editing tweaks and now I am cross eyed and can no longer see the wood for the trees regarding these images!

In addition to that I am preparing a box of goodies to be couriered to SA for my great nephew's first birthday this month. I ordered a few things and some of the things that arrived were incorrect, so I had to take them back and reorder the correct items so that took some time today. I have now wrapped everything and packed it into the box, am just waiting for one more delivery on Monday and then I will seal the box and get it couriered off, hopefully it will arrive there safely. 

I have also been ordering a whole lot of things for another project we have on the go at the moment, so it has been a day in front of the computer online shopping and before I realised, it is the end of the day and I now have to go make supper and still do the ironing.

Gavin is now outside washing the garden refuse bins which have become so stinky as there has been no collection of garden refuse in our area for many weeks now, due to the acute shortage of HGV drivers in the UK. Our gardener kindly took the garden waste away yesterday in his large van. The council keep sending emails saying that services will resume soon, which is then followed by another email to say they have been let down by yet another company and there are no HGV drivers available. I know this has affected many areas of the country, and we have been warned in the news that there will be many shortages for Christmas due to this problem of no drivers.

Next week will be better! We go to Cornwall next weekend and the I think the hotel is suffering from the lack of staff problem that is affecting the hotel and restaurant industry, we cannot contact them to confirm our booking and the photographer running the workshop that I am doing there says is pulling his hair out as the hotel are not replying to emails or confirming anything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.