Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunshine on bracken

I have had a very stressful few hours - when I left to go to London yesterday evening I had a flurry of emails when I was on the train from the RPS advisor - it turns out she did not receive any of the images and documents I sent her on Tuesday to review. I managed to find the We Transfer link and resubmitted it while I was on the train from my phone, but I nearly missed my destination station as I was concentrating so hard on this, and coping with network coverage that kept fading.

It ended up being a pleasant evening out, it was at a rooftop venue of a club/restaurant so there was plenty of fresh air and ventilation which was good - it made up for the horribly busy rush hour stations which freaked me out a little as I don't like being near so many people. It is as if a switch has been flipped, London is suddenly back to normal and is so busy once again, life seems back to pre-Covid times with restaurants full and people everywhere. The function was a drinks and snacks evening and while the Moet flowed very freely there was a lack of snacks - which is usually the case at these type of functions so when we got home at 10pm I had to make a light snack to eat before going to bed.

The RPS advisor could not look at my images until late next week as she was going away today for a few days, and when I asked her if she could possibly look at them on Monday so I had time to get them printed and mounted, she said she could try for Tuesday. Then late last night she emailed me again to say that her plans had changed as her grandchildren were ill (and therefore she was no longer going away) so she would try to look at my images today. It seems fate intervened and so this morning I had my second one to one session with her and I got positive feedback, she likes my panel very much but as she said if it was up to her she would pass me but it is up to a panel of five judges and it is not likely to get all five people thinking the same as she does. So now I have a very busy few days, checking the images one final time, sending them off to get printed, and cutting the mounts, which will be a big job for 15 images. The mountboard was delivered this morning as it comes in such large sheets it is not easy to get in the car.

This was taken on my morning walk in the woods, we got a few glimpses of sunshine and I liked the light on the bracken. There are also so many berries this year.

I met a friend for lunch, it was to celebrate my birthday last week, and we had a good catch up as I have not seen her for ages due to the lockdowns. It was good to have a couple of hours of relaxation time after worrying about the ARPS images for the past few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.