Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Heather on a grey day

We are having such dull, grey weather this week, it is very uninspiring for photos when you don't get any good light. The heather is still looking very pretty yet here it looks dull on a grey day. 

Another day of ticking things off my chore list - booked the car in for a service, and I booked my winter flu jab. I always get a flu jab and this year they are expecting bad cases of flu (as due to lockdown our natural immunity has decreased) so I am sure more people than usual will want to get the jab.

I have hit an obstacle with the ARPS submission. Although I sent the images to her at the beginning of this week, the reviewer can only have a one to one session with me next week on Thursday or Friday, which means it does not give me enough time to get the images re-edited and printed in time to be couriered to RPS in Bristol by the following Monday morning. The RPS require that the images are received at least 3 weeks before the assessment date. So I either have to delay my assessment until the next date in 6 months time, or submit my images before the final review. Either was it is an unsatisfactory situation and I am not sure what to do. I was in contact with the reviewer last week and she had initially said she could look at the images early this week, but I guess she is very busy with other reviews.

Tonight I am going to London for Gavin's office 'summer party'. They usually have it in June but due to Covid rules and lockdowns it was delayed this year. It will feel very strange going out to a function again. They have thankfully chosen an outdoor venue, a roof terrace of a hotel, and everyone has to take a Covid test before coming. I got the negative results of my PCR test that I took yesterday (for Day 2 of travel requirements) so I am fine.

For anyone interested in the advancements made in science, this was on the news last night - if you go to 13.19 mins you will see an interview with Pip's supervisor at the lab where she works, they are doing incredible stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.