Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Vancouver - The Grouse Grind

I started the day by having a run along the seawall from the hotel to Stanley Park, it was a beautiful morning, bright and sunny with blue skies. After breakfast we were just about to go to the float plane dock as we had a flight booked to Vancouver Island, where we were spending the day in Tofino. We had been told that this flight could be cancelled due to inclement weather in Tofino, but on a glorious day like today we were pleased it was so sunny and we were looking forward to the trip. As we were about to set off Gavin received a phone call to say that the flight had been cancelled due to fog in Tofino....we were so disappointed.

We then tried to think of a plan B, and decided to get the free shuttle bus across Vancouver to Grouse Mountain where we had been recommended to hike the Grouse Grind. This is an extreme hiking trail from the base of the mountain to the top, and it is described as 'nature's stairmaster' as it consists of 2830 steps hewn out of rock and made with railway sleepers - it is only 2.5km long but climbs 800m and my goodness it is tough! As we arrived paramedics were carrying someone down the trail who had collapsed, I think the heat today did not help as it was 27C. It was the most gruelling climb I have done, at times I felt I could not carry on...but of course I did and I felt pleased I had finished. It did not help that I did this after I had already run 5km that morning. They say it takes about 2 - 2.5 hours to climb to the top, but Adam and Pip did it in 1 hour and we did it in 1 hour 34 minutes. My legs sure felt wobbly and tired after that climb. You are not allowed to hike down, you have to take the cable car as seen here.

We had a quick lunch at the cafe at the top, and then once we were down again we got an Uber to Capilano Suspension Bridge Park. It has an impressive series of suspension bridges and walkways high up through the high treetops of the rainforest. It has been very well constructed because one did feel very high and exposed at times.

Now we are off to meet the Canadian family for supper at a nearby restaurant. The food here so far has been fantastic, such good quality, excellent friendly service, and cheaper than back home.

An extra of downtown Vancouver.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.