Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Finished the stock gates for the cattle pens

Today was fiddley but actually fun.  So we have five gates in the cattle pen structure. These are opened and closed to guide cattle and sheep into particular areas of the pens.  Fun to build the gates as the horizontal elements came as one piece and I just cut the square pieces on my chopper and glued them together.  The gates swing from the taller post.

So far OK - but I needed to make hinges for the gates.  I could have glued them to the support post but that would be a problem - I was not sure which I wanted open or closed.  And just felt wrong.  Also there are three right handed gates and two left handed to complicate things.  

So I bought a packet of HO scale eye bolts.  Tiny.  I had some .016" brass rod that would go through the eye bolt hoop.  .  So I drilled holes in the gate post and the gate.  Bent a small piece of the brass rod in "L" shapes.  A little ACC glue and the bent ones were in the gates.  And the "I" bolt was in the support post.  All measured several times.

All done and only one eye bolt got ACCed to my fingernail.

Next step - lay out the chutes on the layout, and lay out the fences and gates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.