Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Finished the cattle and sheep pens

Today was fence construction.  A while ago I scraped the preliminary landscaping off the foam and painted it my ground color.  That gave me a flat (almost) place to build the fences.  So I started with the long one in the front and then worked back towards the chutes.  I used Aleen's Super Tacky Glue.  It sets up twice as fast as the regular stuff - before the fences could fell down.  A great product.

Now the fun part.  I will cover the ground with a very fine base color of dirt.  Then add a few weeds and glue it down.  I use isopropyl alcohol at 72% for the wetting agent, and then good old Elmers Glue 1/2 and 1/2 with water and a few drops of dish different.  I also have to blend the raw color portion with the road and neighbors.

While that is drying, I will start painting 16 cattle, three horses, and three cowboys.  All came from The Aspen Model Company.  Excellent detail.  I do have some sheep coming from them for the smaller pen.  And I need to scratch build a couple of water troughs for the stock - it is hot out here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.