Lakeland Trails 15Km

Deb had entered the Lakeland Trails 15Km last year, but because of Covid, moved her booking to this year. With my knee playing up earlier in the year, I had no intention of booking. However, three weeks ago I booked my place, as the cut off time for the event was 3 1/2 hours, and I reckoned I could walk the route in that time. 

We started in waves (to give as much social distancing as possible, Deb started at 1.00, my group went at 1.06. The route took in the bottom of Latrigg, then up the Glendaterra bogs to an altitude of 1400 feet above the start point. At the halfway mark, my legs were feeling OK (though breathing in the hot afternoon was hard) so I stretched my legs and went for a better time. 

I had no idea how well I was doing, but smashed my PB from 3 years ago by 2 full minutes, and 4 minutes faster than 2 years ago. Was so pleased, but probably won't be able to move tomorrow!

Deb equalled her PB, which was fabulous too - getting older doesn't mean getting slower!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.