New Book, Old Dream

I am reading a wonderful book about women on the ocean liners that once plied the "pond" between America and Europe, Maiden Voyages by Sian Evans.  Taking the 5 day cruise between New York and South Hampton has always been a dream of mine.  Sadly, there is only one true ocean liner left, the Queen Mary II.  I've been fascinated with these ocean going vessels since my 7th grade history teacher told us about the sinking of the Titanic on the 50th anniversary of it back in 1962.  You'd think that would put me off the idea!  I've been on cruise ships but they are not quite the same thing.  Aw well, maybe some day...

Do you know the difference between a cruise ship and an ocean liner?  The former puts in port after port and the later makes a "bee line" from point A to point B.  I've added a comparison between the Titanic, the largest ship of its day, to a modern cruise ship.  Stunning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.