Hoverfly mimicry

I was waiting for a peacock butterfly to come closer when this giant flew onto the butterfly bush. Looked kind of menacing but I doubted it was an actual hornet so I decided to get as close as I could (and my camera had an extension tube on the macro lens, so I  needed to be close anyway). Of course the critter had landed in such a way that the only way to capture it on camera was completely contre-jour against the sun, so I've had to edit and edit to get a clearer view, hence the resulting sort of arty version. It is a hornet mimic hoverfly ( Volucella zonaria) the biggest hoverfly known within Europe. Clever use of mimicry, scaring off the nasties :-)
For Tiny Tuesday with thanks to JDO for hosting this month !

Thanks very much for the kind comments and stars for yesterday's dragon mono and the AT323 results

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.