Definitely not one to miss

Less than a week before it finishes, we finally got to the Galloway Hoard exhibition at the National Museum of Scotland. It was grand and we were most impressed by the display, although there were a few people around, probably because it will soon be closing. We also enjoyed a bit of a wander around the museum afterwards, before a quick coffee in Nero. Because Mr A had to go to the supermarket afterwards, we took the car into town and paid for parking. Naughty people. But on this occasion it made sense.

Astonishingly, Mr A was convinced - and probably rightly so - that he hadn't been in the museum since before we moved to Edinburgh. We were up staying with a friend at one point in the early 2000s, and we took L to the museum. Or perhaps Mr A did, and I was working.

Anyway, I haven't been in the museum that much even since it reopened in 2011, although I have been a few times for work and to eat in the restaurant, and I have blipped it. It really is an amazing space, and the material that is now displayed is truly fascinating. One could lose oneself in there.

After lunch, I had to go to a meeting that I haven't been to for a long time. One of these big set piece meetings.

And then I walked home to get my steps, although it was really sweltering. So we sat out after dinner and had a beer, and we still have the door open at 8.30pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.