Michaelmas

It's that time of year again when I look back fondly on my primary school years as the michaelmas daisies come into bloom.  This was the "School Flower" for my school, St Michael's CofE School, East Wickham, and every Michaelmas Day the school would walk the mile or so, crocodile fashion, to the mother church wearing our purple and yellow uniform with pride.

My paternal great grandmother is buried in the churchyard, though the headstones have long been removed for easier maintenance, and the original C12th century chapel, where my paternal grandparents were married, is now a Greek Orthodox church; we held our services in the new 1930s built parish church along side.

We always had michaelmas daisies growing in the garden, and I "stole" a clump when I moved into my current home. They come up reliably every year, and today I found a bud nicely backlit by the late afternoon sun.  Just what I needed for this week's Tiny Tuesday challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.