It was time for another visit to RHS Wisley with a mouch around the annual flower show. It was an unpromising start: heavy traffic meant the jouney took twice as long, and on my arrival at 9:30 the cars were already being directed to the overflow car parks with entry via the gate at the far end of the gardens.  Was this a mistake?

Most people headed directly to the main entrance are and trade stands, but I waited a few minutes for the small cafe to open and had a lovely peaceful coffee sitting in the sun overlooking the newly developed lavender field and meadow land with beehives. I then took a gentle stroll along the river to the main gardens, which were looking wonderful in the unexpect Indian Summer sun. In the end it wasn't overly busy, even around the trade stands, and I visited all my favourite haunts though I could have done with it being just a few degrees cooler!

This salvia was along the long border up to the viewing mound and was full of bees and hoverflies. By pure chance I managed to catch one just as it flew off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.