Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

5km..... Done!!

A good few months ago, a few of the swimmers that I venture outside with decided to set a wee challenge of swimming 5km.

Slowly but surely we worked our way towards the target.... and it ended up 3 of us deciding to have a crack at it.

I swam just over 4k a while back but then 3 weeks ago I had a wee wobble. 2 lengths of the body of water (2.5k) that I intend to attempt the challenge and I walked out shivering.

Not good!!

Also the other 2 had just done a 3km swim at Loch Lomond recently and were looking doubtful for fitting in some time to push onto 5.

Today the weather was perfect.... So I arranged to meet one of the group who would jump on her SUP and finish the challenge with me.

4 lengths would see it completed.

First and second lengths went well and so I cracked on. The sun was shining and the temperature was great but now the tiredness was slowly kicking in.

Last length and out of the corner of my eye, I saw Bev on her SUP... encouraging me to the end the challenge was completed.

5km swam.... Tired but delighted.... and to warm down?? A cheeky wee play about on the SUP then a swim with Bev.

I'll sleep well tonight!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.