Frontier

By Frontier

Distance

Dan Romer - When the Morning Light Shines In

Another long journey out today, but a beautiful day nonetheless. I finished Resident Evil 7 recently (got platinum) and got myself into a “new” game thats been on the back burner for a while now, Far Cry 5. It’s tonnes better than 4 which felt like an Asian rehash of 3, particularly the “feel” of the outdoors and characters. Only at the beginning so I’m not deep into it yet, but the soundtrack is sublime. The best thing 4 had going for it was the soundtrack by Cliff Martinez, he’s got amazing work. I’d imagine making a cross gen game in Far Cry 4 between PS3 and PS4, there would have been a lot of limitations and unknown boundaries to cross. Most games are better in their sequel on the same platform.

Anywayyy… Far Cry 5 is not bad and I’m enjoying it. Today the view was similar to what I see in the game and wanted to point that out.

On another subject, I dipped my toes into some new rnb, Tinashe has a new album out (333) and although it’s not my style of music I thought it was ok. Two surefire hits while the rest sounded the same, heavy beats with triplet rhythms and lyrics that make no sense. Was still vibing the feel and decided to listen to Doja Cat’s Planet Her (Kiss Me More is really quite sublime). I’ve heard two of her other big singles Boss Bitch and Say So and thought they were dope. This album, although appearing like something generic these days, has something, I dunno, “extra” to it and is a good album overall. Much better than Tinashe’s 333. It appears that even comparing Doja Cat to Tinashe would be really frowned upon by up-to-date pop hounds, like comparing Erykah Badu to Angie Stone, no competition. Or Aaliyah to Monica…

Anyway, Doja Cat’s new album = #fire

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.