Time Divine #01

Basement Jaxx - Where’s Your Head At (Martin Irkin Remix)

Tonight was the first Time Divine gig with Hakuei, Leaf Motif (above) and I. House music all night and people got down. I’ve been using the CD players at gigs instead of my controller for sound quality and DJ “discipline”. What I mean by discipline is that the PC program I normally use has so many awesome features and tags that I rely on too much these days, like music key. I look for the bpm and key of the next song instead of feeling the next one. When I first started DJing I was using CDs and drilling counting the beats and feeling the swing of the groove. This lead me to be more present with the music and the audience. Blending the two together means I can be an effective bridge to feeling.

I guess over the past few years I’ve lost focus of that and trying to get myself back on feeling the music and reading the people, that’s where I had the most successful gigs. Great night! Met some really cool people. Thank you, Hakuei for putting tonight together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.