Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Wayland's Smithy

Today I rented a car to visit my aunt.  I picked it up very early so I could drop in on Wayland's Smithy, which is only a few miles from her house.

Wayland's Smithy is a neolithic longbarrow on the Ridgeway above the Vale of the White Horse (more info here).  I remember seeing it once before, a long time ago, on a walk with my parents and siblings.  It didn't look anything like this then, but since its takeover by English Heritage it's had a full-on reconstruction (impressive, if just the faintest bit twee, I thought - oops!)

After which I had a lovely lunch with Auntie and drove home just in time to dump the car before the hire place closed.

So that was my Thursday.  Have a good evening, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.