RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Green Cards

We were sweating the arrival of our new immigration documentation as we leave on Monday for a two week visit to the United States. When we applied for our new green cards we were told they should be back in two weeks. We have become very used to Mexico's version of time (which has been quite the adjustment for us overly punctual north of the border Americans) and were very skeptical that we would see our new cards before we departed. We had a plan B in place for when they didn't arrive, but when we went to Immigration this morning there they were. Hurray, saved us a bunch of money and aggravation!

What is ironic is that for the first forty years that I lived in the United States I was a British citizen with a Resident Alien Green Card which I relinquished when I achieved U.S. citizenship shortly before moving to Mexico in 2010. Now I am once again living in a foreign land with my Green Card.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.