The Nor’wester Goes Rogue

What a day! It began at approximately 3.50am when I was woken by a tremendous roar and clamour. The District Council had sent out warning texts that a particularly bad storm was on its way, so, I thought, this must be it. I went to the back of the house where there was a strange loud tinny rattle. I turned on the light in time to see the big window in the box room buckle and fall apart. Boxes had fallen about and it was not safe to go in so I closed the door on it to cut the draught that was so strong I had trouble staying upright. Then I saw through the glass back door that there was a wild fire on the hill. It was spectacular.

I quickly dressed. If the house was going to be blown down I didn’t want to be in my pyjamas. For half an hour the huge gusts continued, along with flashes of lightening. When they eased off a little I remembered my weather station and the anemometer telling the wind speed. The fastest gust I saw from then was 105kph, but that was nothing compared with the gust that blew in the window.

I put on the kettle for a cup of tea, but it was only warm when the power went off. Thank goodness for my little gas camp stove. The power came on again at lunchtime.

As the sky lightened rain started. My son went out to board up the broken window. Later we looked at the damage, which could have been a lot worse. The greenhouse stayed put, but the cover is torn in places where it is attached to the frame. The big rose bush at the front door had collapsed, not for the first time. Several high limbs on the wattle trees were snapped and dangling, with masses of foliage and flowers  left to die. (See above shot). Everywhere there were small branches and twigs, some from across the road. The tall Douglas firs at the end of my garden are looking shredded. Heaps of branches and cones are spread downwind of the trees.

Today was meant to be my son’s third day back at work after the lockdown, but because of the power cut there was no work. He was very handy to have at home doing the urgent jobs.

Then, after all the mayhem, Nature showed her other face this evening, Venus with a young moon. (See extra shot).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.