Two Flies

These two flies were sunning themselves in my white laundry basket when I was ready to bring in the washing. The tiny fat-bodied fly flew off immediately, but the mayfly needed persuasion to make it leave. It is the first mayfly I have seen this season. We have about 40 endemic mayflies, but I have no idea which this one is.

My son and I have had a very tiring day cleaning up after the storm. The greenhouse was our priority, as  the cover was close to tearing off. There was also structural damage my son repaired. He also started cutting the broken wattle branches. They are high up. To reach them he had to stand about 1.5m up a ladder and do the cutting with a pruning saw fitted to a 2m long pole, and avoid the branch as it fell. I couldn’t watch. There’s still the two branches from yesterday’s blip to do.

Tomorrow we plan to tackle the big rose bush that has collapsed over the front path and rake up the masses of debris from the front lawn, as well as the wattles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.