NO PRIZES FOR GUESSING WHERE WE HAD COFFEE TODAY!

Mr. HCB is usually upon long before me - and today was no exception.  He likes to go downstairs and listen to the News on Radio 4.  He will often bring me a glass of water about an hour later and we then discuss our plans for the day.

He said he didn’t feel like pottering in the garden this morning, so suggested we went to Jack’s for a coffee, and of course, I didn’t resist or refuse!

Whilst in there, we were chatting to Keiran, our friendly and favourite waiter, so I took the opportunity to take a few shots of him, and he was happy for me to do so - well I think he was, I didn't really ask!  Sadly, the lighting wasn’t that brilliant, but I think he looks good in this photograph.  He is always so friendly and courteous and quite apart from that, he makes the best decaffeinated latte!  

We were chatting about Margaret, who always calls Mr. HCB “Cowboy” because of his Tilley hat, and Keiran said that he was concerned because he hadn’t seen her for about a month.  I told him that I knew she lived just round the corner, so I rang her number, but there was no response.  I said that I would pop round there as were parked quite near and then let him know if I found anything out about her.

When I got to Margaret’s house, the door was ajar, so I called out to her, but a man came to the door and I realised it was her ex-husband.  I know that Margaret and her ex-husband were still friends and he often did shopping for her, so I wasn’t surprised to see him at her house.

I asked about Margaret and he said that sadly she had fallen down the stairs on the 9th August, and as she had broken several ribs, she had been taken to hospital.  From there she was moved to a care home, which was where she was now and would stay there until the house could be sorted out ready for her to come home.  I told him that we all missed her at Jack’s and that Keiran had been asking after her.  He said he would be seeing her soon, so I asked him to give her our love and best wishes for a speedy recovery and that I would write to her.  He said he would tell her and thanked me for calling. 

I then went back to Jack’s to let Keiran know - Margaret always had a soft spot for him so he was pleased to hear news of her and said that he would send her a card.  I told him that if he didn’t mind, I would send her a card and enclose the photograph I had taken of him this morning and he was happy for me to do that.

“Wherever there is a human in need,
     there is an opportunity for kindness 
          and to make a difference.”
Kevin Heath 

P.S.  I have been in touch with the Mamie Martin Fund about my 100 Abstracts Challenge, to let them know that I am closing down my Donations Page.  Moira, one of the Trustees, has told me that the £1,240 donated by so many generous people, is almost enough to send one girl in North Malawi to school for her entire secondary school education.  Isn't that fantastic?  If you haven't donated yet, you have a couple more days to do so - just click on this link - and HUGE THANKS again: 

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.