ABSTRACT THURSDAY - MOTION BLUR

Typical of me - I take a photograph when we go out for coffee with friends, but then decide to look at the theme for today and find that the shot has no bearing whatsoever on the theme, so when we got home, I went out into the garden to take a shot that was in keeping with it.

The rain that came yesterday was very welcome as the gardens really did need it and it rained quite hard this morning, but now it is just a gentle sprinkling, which will do even more good that the heavy showers we had last night.

It’s still quite warm though, so I went out into the garden without a coat and took several shots using my SlowShutter app and was pleased with how they turned out.  This blurry shot shows our garden with the blue fence at the far end and you can see the colour of the grass in the foreground is quite yellow - that’s where Mr. HCB has now cut it after we let it grow long to encourage the pollinators.  Once the rain has stopped, he is going to scarify it and then we need to prepare it ready for the wild flower seeds we intend planting ready for next year.  

Unfortunately, we won’t be sitting out in the garden today, but at least we can sit in the conservatory and look out - and now the rain has stopped and the sun is shining, so I think a quiet afternoon with a book sounds like a good idea.

“Like wildflowers, 
     you must allow yourself to grow 
          in all the places people thought 
               you never would.”
E.V. Rogina


P.S.  As it's Abstract Thursday, I thought I would update you on my 100 Abstracts Challenge that I did to raise awareness and money for the Mamie Martin Fund, which provides impoverished girls in North Malawi with a good secondary education.  When I started back on the 7th April 2021, I put £100 as my Target, but I am thrilled to say that this figure has been surpassed by a long way - in fact, my total stands at £1,240 so HUGE THANKS to everyone who has donated so far - you are amazing.


I am going to close the Donations Page in the next couple of days, so there is still time if someone hasn't sponsored me and would like to - you just need to click on this link:

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.