All Good Things come to an End

Our Merry Widows’ safari to Northumberland ended this morning. We had to be packed and away from Ottoline Cottage by 9:30am. There was just time for an early morning dip in the sea and a stroll up the bridleway beside the house through the mist before we headed north.

There was a slight hiccup when one of the B roads to Wooler off the A1 was closed with diversions, except that someone had failed to put them in place.
We got to Wooler and beyond eventually, and made it to the Flat Cat Café and Gallery in Lauder for a coffee and a browse.

After that it was a case of “Home, James and don’t spare the horses” and patience with slow lines of traffic going into Edinburgh.

We have had a most enjoyable week with especially warm, calm weather. It was an Indian summer.

My fellow travellers came up trumps. Val drove us there and back expertly and without incident and also acted as our Quarter Master, while Sheila was my personal bodyguard and lifeguard at the beach, carrying my towel and ready to warn me if she espied any sharks.
As for me, I was the fire maker at the mercy of logs that didn’t want to burn but given the right material I was so successful that last night we had to open all the outside doors lest we were roasted alive. I’ll miss my fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.