LesTension

By LesTension

DR. PEPPER

I refer to my neighbor as Dr. Pepper.....he grows the most fantastic peppers ever.Easily the size of a softball many are even larger......BTW, whomever first called it a softball surely never got hit by one.

Anyway, my neighbor of 45 years has decided, in his old age, to build a raised garden so he wouldn't have to bend so much....it sits waist high above the ground and consists of three different wooden "gardens" in which he grows everything. Cucumbers, tomatoes and peppers are his joy. And they are as tasty as they look. 

I like peppers but they do not like me. One bite and I suffer immediate post-prandial abdominal distention.......belly-ache. But I like Ken's peppers so much I willingly consume them. I'll fry up a little hamburger, mix it 50/50 with white rice, slather the whole thing with hot salsa and then bake in the oven at 350° for 30 minutes. Totally worth the belly-ache that follows immediately.  I sometimes make 6 at a time....eat 1 and freeze the rest. Then I can experience the same discomfort in the middle of a winter snowstorm. Delicious. Did I mention that a cold beer goes well with stuffed peppers?

Best in Large. If you look in Large, and I hope you do, you'll see some little white lines all over the pepper. It's just some limestone rings. We have very hard water here with much Mg++ and Ca++ ions dissolved in the water. When the water evaporates....little rings of lime are left behind...same as on your black car or the walls of your aquarium as water evaporates from it.

GEEZ! I forgot that it's Flower Friday. Well, peppers grow from flowers. Does that count?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.