Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

A free Friday

Sweetheart and his Dutch friend went to the village to do some jobs there and I got myself freed from coming along. I went up to Akrotiri to see my friends there. Nice walks up and down from Chania city onto the peninsula ~  I suppose it was some 20 kms for today. 
The main foto is Chania city, seen from the road leading up to Akrotiri, Korakies. And coming down via Chaleppa, what's a former suburb from Chania what you can see just behind the green trees at the bottom of my pica and the blue church dome in the left, from the Evangelistria church there. Then I passed by from the little "Church of the Transfiguration of the Savior" where a woman had prepaired the yard for a service... only the priest and couple plus family and friends weren't there yet. A little earlier I'd bumped into a couple that were pictured by their photographer on their weddingday. I had just a lovely day with expected and unexpected encounters.

Thank you all lots for your reactions of recent! Much appreciated.
The burrial of Mikis Theodorakis was a beautiful farewell in gratitude for that great son of Greece, who's claimed to be " immortal / athanatos" and praised for all his works and his courage and his teachings to the Greeks and to all in the world, because he was a " cosmopolitan" not only a Cretan and Greek; altho' he stated himself many times that all he created, he created for Crete and for Greece :-) 
Today his tombstone was placed on his grave and it's the white marmor cubic stone with nothing more but his name written on, what he'd ordered to be made by a friend ~ I want to visit him there tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.