Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

On pilgramige to Mikis grave

This afternoon I went up to the village of Galatas to pay my respects at the grave of Mikis Theodorakis, who was burried here 2 days ago. On top of his grave the laurel wreath what's layed there by Greece's president, Mrs Katerina Sakellaropoulou.

When hopping on the bus up to the village two young men holding a bunch of flowers seemed to travel the same route as I did; and they did. We walked up to the graveyard together and back (see extra). I walked down to Chania again, they took the bus.
In the extra also a foto of the flowers and letters left at the gate of the Theodorakis family house, in Galatas.

The large cubic gravestone was designed by Mikis Theordorakis himself and he had an artist in Athens, make this from Pentelis marmor. The tombstone travelled down to Crete together with the coffin with Mikis last Wednesday night.. a priest who sipped his coffee in the same taverna like I had my frappe after my pilgramige to the grave, told me so on my requests. Just good to know how all was organised by Mikis himself.

Thank you all lots for your reactions upon yester panorama over Chania town. And wishing you all a Happy Weekend! 

Ofcourse 9/11 is also on my mind, the memory of the shock and horror of then + whatever drama enrolled since and worsens now rapidly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.