A Day for Quiet Reflection

Just like the Kennedy assassination, we all know exactly where we were when we heard the dreadful news of the attack on the World Trade Center 20 years ago today.  I was teaching at an elementary school right outside Boston.  My colleague and I watched in horror on the tv in the library as the first tower collapse and then in disbelief when the second plane hit.  Later that morning I was on the playground with the principal.  The town was on the flight path for Logan Airport and planes were routinely flying overhead but the sky was eerily quiet.  Then 3  Air Force fighter jets flew by and we both looked up with tears in our eyes.  I remember saying, "Today, the world has changed.  It will never be the same again."  I was right.  Today, we remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.