WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

CAKE!

I didn’t have real cake for HeartFreek’s challenge so wasn’t going to to take part today, but then I remembered a scrap of fabric left over from previous makes. I think it is a ‘Michael Miller’ design.

I’ve had a lazy day today, some knitting, some drawing, some playing of ukulele.
Fell asleep this afternoon on the sofa and haven’t properly woken up since then!

Today is both a happy and a sad day.
September 11th is my son Marc’s birthday - he is now 43! I mentioned recently that he has been suffering from depression. He is starting to feel better now after taking the anti depressants for a couple of weeks. I sent him an e voucher for his birthday and a lovely foxy card. He sounded quite upbeat when I spoke to him earlier.

Sadly the twin towers attack marred his birthday somewhat on that day 20 years ago.
Seeing the footage again on TV today still fills me with horror. How can humans do that in the name of their religion?
I remember exactly where I was when it happened. 
I was working on Ward 1 in Dumfries Royal Infirmary. It was about 1.45pm.
I went into the day room where new surgical admissions were waiting to be admitted. All the patients were glued to the television, and looking aghast and shaking their heads. I asked what was happening and nobody could answer. I watched for a while then went out to where Sister Scobie was talking to the nursing officer. I told them what I’d just seen but they took no notice and carried on talking. I went home with a heavy heart that day and watched the news all evening, trying to make sense of it all but of course nobody could make sense of such an atrocity.

Thinking today of all those victims and their families.

:-/ X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.