Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Storm repairs

Several violent storms in the night, full blood and guts, lightning, winds and torrential rain. I was tempted to go look for a lightning image, but the bed was so warm and cozy. I was thinking that there is going to be a lot of visible damage at the safari location, remembering back to a previous storm a year ago.

It seemed it would hardly be worth going on a bug safari in the morning, knowing that the bugs are thin on the ground after rains, by I decided to do an early safari, which would leave me plenty of time to make a plan B if the bug safari fell flat.

The concrete pond survived the storm quite well. The owner has had to rebuild both rows of shelters after two previous storms over the last year. The shelters survived, but he has a row of fence down, but the business should be able to continue uninterrupted.

Thirty yards into my safari I found a downed banana tree and a few yards further the path had disappeared, collapsed into the stream, so that was the end of the north safari, so I backed up and headed south.

This is not the first time the path has collapsed. A few months ago, I was sitting on the wall at the start of my safari route, setting up my gear, when there was a loud rustling from the tree next to me. I quickly positioned myself to see what huge animal caused the disturbance, camera at the ready. There was a rumbling noise, a vibration and then the entire tree and the path just vanished in front of my eyes, just a couple of feet from where I was standing. That incident too was after heavy rains in the night.

I continued my safari downstream and picked up lots of spider images, one of them a new spider for my collection. But, the winner for the blip was this farmer, Maman, whom I have blipped a couple of times before. He is carrying water pipe, and will be busy all day, repairing the path and the water pipes that were taken out by the landslide. The water pipes are part of the land husbandry system, they pick up the stream water and irrigate the paddy fields further downstream. I can blip the spider another time.

Dawggal pointed out that I blipped Maman exactly a year ago today. This also marked my first blip from this location.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.