Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Farmer Maman

Late morning and I decided to ride up to the concrete pond, were I do my fishing. The venue is shut down at the moment due to wind damage, but I was hoping to get a progress report. It wasn't looking good!

On my fishing trips, I had noticed a small stream with a path running along side and decided that today I would explore, as there were lots of dragons, butterflies and some promising webs. The rather stingy path lead past a few derelict houses and a couple of neglected, fenced off ponds and then opened up into a valley of rice fields. Jackpot!

It was a bit of a balancing act, but I followed the paddy borders, up the valley. I saw a farmer up ahead, so made straight for him to introduce myself and gain permission to proceed.

Introducing Maman.

The Indonesian farmers are certainly a lot more polite than their British brethren, as experienced by Ceridwen a few days ago. Farmer Maman greeted me with a smile and an invite to continue. He even helped steady me across a difficult gap and advised me of the best route to take. So polite and amenable, typical of all Indonesians, especially when you get away from the big smoke that is the city.

Only four miles or so ride from my house, I suspect that I have found a new source of insect blips. The stream and watery paddy fields were ideal habitat for dragons and I was surrounded by exotics that I had rarely seen at other locations. The only limitation being the skinny path that I had to follow, but there will be plenty of blip opportunities here, maybe a scenery shot or two too.

Although I had greased my face in anticipation of a blip safari, I had unfortunately forgotten my bandana, so with the fiery sun determined to do it's worst, I decided to call a halt to the proceedings. Besides, I would only end up with a couple hundred images and have to spend all afternoon trying to pick a blip. I am learning, LOL.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.